Coconut Cream Cheeze

Good morning vegans, wanna-be-vegans, and vegans for a meal…we can all increase our health by eating a variety of plant foods while also not harming our animal friends. I am enjoying my sprouted wheat bagel this morning, spread with this veggie cream cheeze I created from a container of coconut yogurt. I have tried a couple of recipes to make cream cheeze with tofu and just never got the results I wanted and I cannot believe I hadn’t thought of this before since I have heard of this being done this with cow’s milk yogurt in the past…now, I have something similar to my favorite spread for topping off my breakfast bagel! Not exactly cream cheese but good nonetheless…

This recipe is so easy and easily adapted to be any flavor you can imagine…which is one of the great things about making things yourself! I made this with coconut yogurt, but I would think you could use soy or any other vegan yogurt of your choice…as I said before, I just try to limit my soy use to a couple of products…so, here goes the magical transition from yogurt to cream cheeze…

Coconut Cream Cheeze

  • 1 Container Coconut yogurt
  • flavorings, seasonings of choice

Place a coffee filter into a strainer that fits over a bowl. Add yogurt, cover and place in fridge overnight or for a couple of days for thicker cheeze (mine sat for 3 nights while I was out of town, yielding a nice consistency). After straining, add flavorings of choice…let your imagination fly! Let sit overnight to allow flavors to meld.

For this batch, I added some dried veggies, onion and garlic powder, parsley and salt. I looked at commercial cream cheeses and found a variety of flavors that could be tried…sun-dried tomato and basil, spinach and artichoke, chive and onion, agave and walnut, cinnamon and vanilla, fruit medleys…the possibilities are endless and only limited by our thoughts…much like everything else in this life! And after trying it this morning, my mind is exploding with more recipe ideas to use this cheeze.

My 16 oz container of yogurt didn’t all fit into the filter/strainer, so I had some yogurt left over to enjoy as well…also, the whey collected in the bowl is full of protein so I saved that and will add it to a smoothie or it could be put into any recipe calling for water. Waste not, want not…trying to be frugal and sustainable whenever and wherever possible…and always looking for a protein boost!! I hope you enjoy…

Peace, love and light,

Shelly

 

 

Leave a Reply

