Breakfast Quinoa

Good morning folks…it’s been awhile and I really had intended to blog more regularly…but…life happens and here I am today. As Autumn is sneaking into my life here in the Colorado mountains, I am starting a transformation from smoothies to warm foods to start my day. And…I’m trying not to succumb to toast, bagels or english muffins as a daily standard; especially as I try to keep wheat to a minimum. I have recently switched to sprouted wheat products but can still tell a difference from when I cut them out completely; I am having a hard time leaving it all behind, though!

Well, here is a wheat-free recipe I have created after attending a photography workshop last month where one of the breakfasts prepared for me was a quinoa porridge of sorts…I’ve been working on it and here is what I’ve come up with…I hope you enjoy this hot, protein packed breakfast porridge as well as I do!

Breakfast Quinoa

  • 1/2 C plant milk
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 C quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/4 t cinnamon

Place milk, water, maple syrup, vanilla and salt in small saucepan. Bring to a boil. Add quinoa and cinnamon, cover and reduce heat to simmer 20 minutes. Enjoy. You can top this with some chopped nuts or fruit for added nutrition and enjoyment…didn’t take a picture with additions but feel free to experiment!

Note: Coconut milk makes this extremely creamy but any plant milk does just fine.

Leave a Reply

