Peach Mint Smoothie

First of all, when I started blogging I was in the middle of doing Shakespeare in my local community theater and now that the play is finished, I intend to start blogging more regularly in order to get some of my recipes out there to those of you who are interested in making vegan taste delicious. Eventually, my plan is to create enough tasty recipes to publish a vegan cookbook…but for now, this blog will serve as my testing board…thanks for joining me on the journey!!

Now…I really hate to make my 3rd post another smoothie but I can’t resist this one…it is sooo good. I never used to like peaches very much but since becoming vegan they have begun to grow on me. And now that I’ve come up with this delicious smoothie, I think I’ll be eating them more often.

Here in Colorado, we have some delicious peaches grown on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains…when I brought mine home, I washed and cut them up and tossed them into the freezer so they’d be primed and ready to add to my fruit smoothies. Now like I said, the intent would have been to add them to some other fruit and not neccessarily make them the main event…I don’t know what possessed me this morning but the ingredients of this smoothie transformed into something magical…

An afterthought as the smoothie was whizzing away was to add mint, so I ran outside and cut off a sprig of my chocolate mint…I’m sure whatever kind of mint you have on hand would be delicious…but this is the kind I used. Also, I didn’t have any fresh oranges so I used some OJ concentrate in a pinch…the next time I make this, I will add the juice of 1 orange instead of the concentrate…let me know if you experiment with this…it won’t be long and I will, too!

So, I hope you’ll whip this up in your blender and let me know what you think…

Oh, and a thought on plant milk…first of all I had the question of what is it? Well, it’s any milk alternative out there, like soy, rice, almond, hemp, oat, etc. My favorite kind to use is oat because it has 4g of protein per serving…and…I try to limit my soy usage to sprouted tofu, edamame and liquid aminos.

Peach Mint Smoothie

  • 1 C Plant Milk
  • 2 T Orange Juice Concentrate (Juice of 1 orange)
  • 1/2 banana, frozen
  • 1/2 C peaches, frozen
  • 1 sprig of chocolate mint, about 4″, leaves torn and added to blender, saving small top leaves for garnish, if desired
  • 1 T pure maple syrup
  • dash of vanilla

Add all ingredients to high powered blender and blend until smooth and frothy. Pour into a tall glass, garnish with mint leaves, enjoy.

Peace, love and light,

Shelly

3 thoughts on “Peach Mint Smoothie

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hey Shelly, this sounds yummy! I’ve made almond milk, but never oat milk. What form of oats do you use? Steel cut? Instant? Or somewhere in between?

    Are you trying out for the one-acts?

    elf

    • Hey Elizabeth, I’ve actually not made any of my plant milk but have bought it…although, I have been thinking it would be much more frugal to make my own as oats would be way cheaper than the septic packages. Do you use a nut bag for straining your almond milk? I was wondering if I needed one to make my plant milk. I’m going to be the daughter in Blur…

      • Elizabeth says:

        It depends on what I’m using the milk for as to whether I use one of my nut bags or not. I think I’ll Google oat milk recipes.

        Your reply truncated so I couldn’t read all of what your doing in the one acts.

Leave a Reply

